My mom says that if I don’t post my friends will stop liking me…

So as many of you may have noticed it’s been quite a while since I’ve posted on my blog. Like a really long while. I apologize for my neglect, and in my defense would like to point out the following:

1)      Nothing interesting or extraordinary has happened to me during this time. Everything in my life has been pretty routine and there hasn’t been much to report.

2)      Having lived here for 8 months already I have ceased to be surprised by things that once seemed quite novel or strange to me, and have therefore lost some of my ability to make interesting observations.

3)      I’m lazy

 

So to bring you up to date, it is now mid-April, the Siberian frosts have gone, the snow has melted, my winter boots and jacket have been stowed away, and yesterday, for the first time since September, I left my dorm without a jacket. The longest winter of my life is FINALLY over, and I couldn’t be happier!

 

In other news, I have decided to return to Russia next year to continue doing what I do now. I have been accepted for a renewal of my grant and will be teaching in an as-of-yet unknown location in Russia. A good idea? Who knows…  At least I don’t have to think about trying to find a job in the U.S. now!

 

I will be returning to the home in the second half of June and will spend most of the summer in the states. I plan on visiting as many of my friends and family members as possible, and trying to soak up as much America as I can in two months. I will be spending time on both coasts and in the heartland, so if you’d like to see me please let me know where and when you’ll be, and If you’re lucky I’ll choose your name in the live random drawing which will be broadcast world-wide on the latino music cooking channel. (Five second place winners will receive consolatory prize t-shirts).

 

As for the remaining two months of Novosibirsk… I am studying for a standardized test in Russian Language which I’ll take in May. I’ll be done teaching at the end of May and will perhaps take a short trip at the beginning of June. Other than that, I plan to spend as much time outside as possible while the weather continues to improve, and I plan on buying some sandals.

4 Responses to “My mom says that if I don’t post my friends will stop liking me…”

  1. Lee Says:

    Yeah! You posted! I guess I can start loving you again.

  2. Brianna Says:

    it’s funny..you posted but i still don’t like you. huh. (not)

  3. david Says:

    i was this (mimes very small distance with fingers) fucking close to pulling the plug on this whole thing (us) and right before i decided to pull that shit out the the stupid fucking wall i checked your blog and here it is THE UPDATE. the one WE HAVE ALL BEEN WAITING FOR. and i said, well well well, that silly little frostbitten ratt fuck just saved himself a friendship with a total chiller, me (david krom, david.krom@yahoo.com).

    so like fuck….

    ….
    your mom was right. even if the MOTHERLAND is hellof boring we need to know that you are alive and well.

    also. check your facebook jammer bout a summer chill. Fuckin, like, i wont settle for a god damn good for nothing mexico shit-shirt consolation prize.

    ok.

    so like

    i love you.

    love…………………..

  4. Doug Johnston Says:

    Matt – love the blog. Was good to meet you last week at SibAgs. If you ever need any assistance, call on us – and don’t forget to register with AmCit services, if you haven’t already!
    Cheers,
    Doug Johnston

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

